Home » Celebrating Strong and Fearless Females
Books Entertainment Reviews

Celebrating Strong and Fearless Females

Celebrate strong, fearless, and history-making females with a reading list compiled by Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing.
Share this post:

This post may contain affiliate links, in which I will make a commission if you purchase via the links. Thoughts and opinions are my own.

March is Women’s History Month! This month celebrates women’s contributions to contemporary societies and history. We’re celebrating these strong and fearless females with a reading list compiled by Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing. These books look back on the past that often resonates with the present moment. Some of these books also highlight history-making women that have been often overlooked.

13 Books for Young Readers to Read for Women’s History Month


Ida B. Wells: Discovering History’s Heroes

By Diane Bailey
Ages 7-10

Jeter Publishing presents a brand-new series that celebrates men and women who altered the course of history but may not be as well-known as their counterparts. This first book explores the life of Ida B. Wells, an African-American journalist, and activist who led an anti-lynching crusade in the United States in the 1890s.

Ruth Bader Ginsburg

By Laurie Calkhoven, Illustrated by Elizabet Vukovic
Ages 6-8

Meet Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg. Also known as the notorious RBG, Ginsburg is only the second female Supreme Court justice in America’s history. She has spent her entire life fighting for equal rights for all, especially women. RBG is a true superhero and young readers are sure to love getting to know her in this fascinating nonfiction Level 3 Ready-to-Read.

The Only Woman in the Photo

By Kathleen Krull, Illustrated by Alexandra Bye
Ages 4-8

The Only Woman in the Photo by Kathleen Krull Book Review

Discover the incredible life of Frances Perkins, the first woman to serve in a presidential cabinet and the mastermind behind Franklin D. Roosevelt’s New Deal, in this fascinating picture book biography that’s perfect for fans of I Dissent.

Muslim Girls Rise: Inspirational Champions of Our Time

By Saira Mir, Illustrated by Aaliya Jaleel
Ages 6+

Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History meets Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls in this gorgeous nonfiction picture book that introduces readers to nineteen powerhouse Muslim women who rose up and made their voices heard.

What Every Girl Should Know

By J. Albert Mann
Ages 9+

This compelling historical novel spans the early and very formative years of feminist and women’s health activist Margaret Sanger, founder of Planned Parenthood, as she struggles to find her way amidst the harsh realities of poverty.

What Miss Mitchell Saw

By Hayley Barrett, Illustrated by Diana Sudyka
Ages 4-8

What Miss Mitchell Saw Review

Discover the amazing true story of Maria Mitchell, America’s first professional female astronomer. Gorgeously illustrated by Diana Sudyka, this moving picture book is sure to inspire budding scientists everywhere.

The Power of Her Pen

By Lesa Cline-Ransome, Illustrated by John Parra
Ages 4-8

 by Lesa Cline-Ransome Book Review

Renowned author Lesa Cline-Ransome and celebrated illustrator John Parra unite to tell the inspiring story of Ethel Payne, a groundbreaking African American journalist known as the First Lady of the Black Press.

Equality’s Call: The Story of Voting Rights in America

By Deborah Diesen, Illustrated by Magdalena Mora
Ages 3-8

In this powerful picture book from the New York Times bestselling author of The Pout-Pout Fish, learn all about the history of voting rights in the United States — from our nation’s founding to the present day.

Becoming RBG: Ruth Bader Ginsburg’s Journey to Justice

By Debbie Levy, illustrated by Whitney Gardner
Ages 10+

From the New York Times bestselling author of I Dissent comes a biographical graphic novel about celebrated Supreme Court justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg.

Make Trouble: Standing Up, Speaking Out, and Finding the Courage to Lead

By Cecile Richards and Lauren Peterson
Ages 10+

Make Trouble by Cecile Richards Book Review

From former Planned Parenthood president and activist Cecile Richards comes the young reader’s edition of her New York Times bestselling memoir, Make Trouble, which Hillary Rodham Clinton called an “inspiration for aspiring leaders everywhere.”

The Degenerates

By J. Albert Mann
Ages 9+

In the tradition of Girl, Interrupted, this fiery historical novel follows four young women in the early 20th century whose lives intersect when they are locked up by a world that took the poor, the disabled, and the marginalized – institutionalizing them for life.

This Little Dreamer: An Inspirational Primer

By Joan Holub, Illustrated by Daniel Roode
Ages 3-5

In this sixth book in the This Little series, now even the youngest readers can learn all about important people in history who dared to dream big for a better future! Highlighting ten memorable dreamers who paved the way, parents and little ones alike will love this inspirational primer full of fun, age-appropriate facts, and bold illustrations.

The Skylark’s War

By Hilary McKay
Ages 10-14

From an award-winning author, Hilary McKay, comes to a “wholly satisfying” (Booklist) story full of wit, heartbreak, and hope as a girl fights for her independence during World War I.


Share this post:
Help Her Find Her Magic

About the author

Lesha

HilLesha O'Nan resides in Southern Indiana with her husband and 3 children. She's a lifestyle blogger that enjoys photography, fashion + beauty, traveling + adventure, gardening, and interior decorating. She is also the founder of To the Motherhood, Fashion Fling, and The Beauty Counter.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Hello! I’m HilLesha and I love photography, fashion, beauty, home improvement, traveling, cooking, and wellness. I’m a married mom of 3  that resides in Evansville, Indiana. Additional info. Please contact me at Hillesha@gmail.com.

I’m also the founder of Fashion Fling and The Beauty Counter.



Past Posts



Bella Grace - Come Discover the Magic